Like the network, the governance of Efus is representative of the geographical and political diversity of its members.

It is managed by a General Assembly which meets every year. The General Assembly elects an Executive Committee made up of around thirty local authorities elected by their peers, one third of which are renewed every year.

In order to represent the diversity of the network, no more than 5 cities or regions from a same country can be elected to the Executive Committee.

> Your would like to join Efus’ Executive Committee? Learn more

The Executive Committee, democratic body of a representative governance

The Executive Committee in Amiens in 2018

(elected on 15 March 2021)


Liège (BE)


Governement of Catalonia (ES), Mannheim (DE), Nice (FR), Rotterdam (NL)

With deliberative votes

Barcelona (ES), Berlin (DE), Brno (CZ), Brussels (BE), Cologne (DE), Düsseldorf (DE), Freiburg (DE), Gdansk (PL), CA La Rochelle (FR), Lisbon (PT), Malmö (SE), Matosinhos (PT), Paris (FR), Regione Emilia Romagna (IT), Riga (LV), Setubal (PT), Unione della Romagna Faentina (IT), Zaragoza (ES), Xàbia (ES)

With consultative status

Belgian Forum: Vilvoorde
Spanish Forum: Madrid
French Forum: Lomme
Italian Forum: Prato
Portuguese Forum
German Forum: Augsburg

Willy DeMeyer, President of Efus

Mayor of Liège (Belgium), Willy Demeyer, was elected President of Efus at the General Assembly on May 18, 2017. Graduating with a law degree in 1982, Willy Demeyer started his career as a lawyer at the Liege Bar.

In 1988 he became a councillor at the City of Liege and the head of the Socialist Group. Between 1991 and 1999 he was appointed as the alderman for Public Works before becoming the burgomaster. He went on to be elected to this position in 2000, 2006 and 2012.

In addition, he was a member of the Walloon Region Parliament from 2004 to 2005, Vice President of the Senate from 2009 to 2017 and a member of the Chamber of Representatives from 2014 to March 2017.

Willy Demeyer is a member of the Commission investigating the attacks of March 2016 in Belgium. He is also Vice President of the International Association of Francophone Mayors since 1999.

Read the interview of Willy Demeyer

The Vice-Presidency

> Government of Catalunia

Miquel Sàmper, Counsellor

Elisabeth Abad, Secretary General

> City of Mannheim

Peter Kurz, Mayor

Christian Specht, First Deputy Mayor

> City of Nice

Christian Estrosi,

Anthony Borré,
Deputy Mayor

> City of Rotterdam

Ahmed Aboutaleb, Mayor

André Vervooren, Director of the Department of Security

Honorary Presidents

  • 2007-2010 : Guilherme Pinto, Mayor of Matosinhos (Portugal)
  • 2007-2010 : Juan Alberto BELLOCH JULBE, Mayor of Zaragoza (Spain)
  • 2003-2007 : Freddy THIELEMANS, Mayor of Brussels (Belgium)
  • 2000-2003 : Giuliano BARBOLINI, Mayor of Modena (Italy)
  • 1998-2000 : Leona DETIEGE, Mayor of Anvers (Belgium)
  • 1996-1998 : Martine AUBRY, Mayor of Lille (France)
  • 1987-1996 : Gilbert BONNEMAISON, Founder of Efus and former Mayor of Epinay-sur Seine (France)